WalkStory Game Walkthrough Search Engine Game Walkthrough Index


Arc the Lad is a tactical role-playing video game developed by G-Craft for the PlayStation and is the first game in the Arc the Lad series. It was released in 1995 in Japan, and released in North America on April 18, 2002, as part of Arc the Lad Collection. The Japanese release was published by Sony Computer Entertainment, while the North American release was published by Working Designs. It was the best-selling Japanese PlayStation game of 1995 with over a million copies sold. Arc the Lad was followed by two direct sequels and many games that make up the series...







  • Sony Interactive Entertainment
  • Sony Computer Entertainment
  • Cattle Call
  • G-Craft

Game Data

Genres: Tactical role-playing

Developers: G-Craft, ARC Entertainment, TOSE, Cattle Call, AltPlus

Publishers: Sony Computer Entertainment, Working Designs, Bandai, Namco, ForwardWorks

Creators: Toshiro Tsuchida

Platforms: PlayStation, WonderSwan Color, PlayStation 2, Android, iOS

First release: Arc the Lad, June 30, 1995

Latest release: Arc the Lad R, August 25, 2018

Game Background

Arc the Lad is a series of video games created by Toshiro Tsuchida. The series began with the release of Arc the Lad in 1995. Arc the Lad uses a tactical role-playing battle system, which all games except Arc the Lad: End of Darkness, follow. Each of the games feature recurring characters and locations. Though the series enjoyed huge success in Japan, leading to an anime adaptation of Arc the Lad II in 1999, alongside several manga and a novelization, Western sales are low due to the obscurity of the series. The first three Arc the Lad games were not released outside of Japan until the Arc the Lad Collection was released by Working Designs in 2002, which was followed by Twilight of the Spirits in 2003 and End of Darkness in 2005.